Gripping Tales of Struggle and Survival

I have thoroughly enjoyed Hosseini’s novels The Kite Runner (2003) and A Thousand Splendid Suns (2007). I have recently re-read A Thousand Splendid Suns and found it as gripping as the first time I picked it up! Hosseini is an extraordinarily talented writer who captures the lives of his character with such depth and portrays the troubling situation of a violent country so convincingly that you feel you are right there in between the pages of the book. The unimaginable hardship faced by characters in the novel really drew me in, allowing me to make the journey alongside them and letting me really experience their struggle.

I was torn between a sense of sadness that I had come to the end of the novels but also an overwhelming sense of relief knowing that some of the characters in the novels were able to have a new beginning. I experienced a roller-coaster of emotions, from  anger to fear and sadness, which finally gave way to feelings of somber alleviation. Though there is the message of hope at the end of the novel, it depicts life as it really is for countless people of the country. These novels stayed with me for a long time afterwards and sometimes i still find myself wondering about the characters. It really makes you aware of the plight of women and children in a country that has a tendency to be chauvinistic and unforgiving. Hosseini give voice to the vulnerable in society who desperately need to be heard and understood. These situations can be applied to countries throughout the world, not only Afghanistan.

I have not yet purchased And the Mountains Echoed which was published earlier this year, life got very very busy with assignments, exams and the dreaded dissertation. I am waiting for a time where I can slow down and really enjoy it!

3 thoughts on “Gripping Tales of Struggle and Survival

  1. Pingback: A Thousand Splendid Suns – Kahled Hosseini | whatshesreadingnow

Leave a Reply

